Agency Boards

Coal Mine Safety Board of Appeals

Coal Mine Safety Board of Appeals:  is responsible for hearing appeals of notices of violations and making determinations on questions of discrimination against miners and of suspension and revocation of state-issued certifications.

Chairman:  Clinton Smith
Ted Hapney and Terry Hudson

Contact: J. C. Egnor         Email:   
#7 Players Club Drive - Suite 2, Charleston WV 25311-1626   Telephone:  304-957-2300 Fax:  304-558-6711

Mine Inspectors' Examining Board

Mine Inspectors' Examining Board: is responsible for administering examinations for candidates for appointment as mine inspector; to maintain a register of such candidates; to hear and determine appeals of mine inspectors from suspension orders made by the Director of the Office of Miners' Health, Safety and Training.         NOTE:  MIEB WAS ABSORBED BY THE BOARD OF COAL MINE HEALTH AND SAFETY  JULY 1, 2017

Board of Coal Mine Health and Safety
Contact:: Mallory K. Yates, Secretary (304) 550-0439 - (304) 558-9105 Email: 

Department of Commerce

Board of Coal Mine Health & Safety and Technical Review Committee
106 Dee Drive, Charleston WV 25311 (304) 550-0439

Coal Mine Health and Safety Board
Members:   Carl Egnor, Chris Hamilton, Teddy Hapney, Terry Hudson, Brian Keaton, and Gary Trout

Technical Review Committee
Members:   Fred Tucker and Chris Hamilton


Secretary:  Mallory Yates Hicks   (304) 550-0439 - (304) 558-9105

Last revised:  03/29/19 11:52 AM

2004 West Virginia Office of Miners' Health Safety and Training.  
An official West Virginia State Agency Web site.
Read our Privacy Notice Summary.   Contact us.

[MHS&T Homepage]  [ Publications Page]  [ Frequently Asked Questions]