Date this page was last updated:  07/16/2012


Certification Questions

How do I get a copy of my West Virginia miners’ card?

Contact the nearest WVMHST office  WVMHS&T office directory

How much does a duplicate card cost?

All duplicate certifications cost $10.00

I’m from Virginia, how do I qualify for a West Virginia electrical certification through the reciprocity agreement?

You must have a valid electrical card, proof of current federal and state retraining, and you must submit your score from the Virginia exam along with a $15.00 fee.

Are study guides available for the West Virginia certification tests?

For many of the certifications a study guide is available: list of publications

I have a West Virginia Surface Miners’ Card, does this qualify me to drive a coal truck off of the surface job?

No.  In order to drive a coal truck off of the job, you must have a valid CDL.

Which states have reciprocity agreements with West Virginia and for what certifications?

Check with the nearest WVOMHST Office for current reciprocity agreements with other states.d

When and where are certification examinations given? How much does it cost to take the tests?

Examinations are given in the Regional offices on a regular schedule, costs vary based on the exam to be taken schedule of exams and their fees

Who offers miner training classes in West Virginia?  Where is this training offered?

Classes are offered throughout the state by private certified instructors List of In State Certified InstructorsList of Out of State Certified Instructors

Where can I get the application forms for these tests?

All certification application forms are available for download List of Certification Application Forms


WV Mining Statistics

What are the current West Virginia coal production and employment figures?

Coal statistics are available on the following  web page Statistical Data

How current are the coal statistics on the web site?

Production reports are filed monthly by the operators for each mine.  The law gives them 31 days from the end of the reporting month to file.  The reports have to be posted in our office and data compiled and loaded to the website.  As an example, January data may not be posted on the website until mid-March at the earliest.  

How many mines are located in West Virginia?

The number of mines changes frequently.  We have a year-to-date statewide summary on production, employment, accidents and the number of mines reporting production on WV OMHST homepage.  We also have historical data and totals at Statistical Data


Records and Documents

Where can I obtain maps of underground mines?
  • Maps of closed mines are micro-filmed and available through the Engineering staff in our Oak Hill at 304-469-8100.  We do have a searchable site on our web site at mine map archive page
  • Maps of current operations are maintained in the regional offices in the permit files. Contact the specific office for availability.  Maps of current operations are considered confidential, however the law allows for exceptions check with the respective regional office for availability.
My grandfather was killed in a mining accident, do you have any information on the accident?

It depends on the year of the accident.  Prior to 1925 fatal accident information was listed in the Department of Mines’ Annual Reports with the name of the victim.  After that year no victim names were published, however investigations of individual fatal accidents were made.  Files of all such investigations have been transferred to the WV Division of Culture and History.   WV OMHST maintains copies of investigations for seven years before transferring records to Culture and History.  If your relative was killed in a disaster (multiple victims) there should be a much more detailed account of the accident.  Again, all such records have been transferred to the WV Division of Culture and History.

How can I obtain a list of operating mines and their addresses in West Virginia?

The annual reports and fiscal year reports contain mine listings with mailing addresses.  These reports are available for download; we no longer print the reports.  Go to Annual Reports.


Employment Qualifications

What are the qualifications to become a West Virginia state mine inspector for WVMHS&T?
  • For a complete job descriptions for all types of mine safety inspectors use these links:  Underground Mine InspectorSurface Mine Inspector, or  Electrical Inspector. The applicant must pass a comprehensive written and verbal examination, placing the applicant on a roster from which the director may hire. 
  • If you wish to make application to take the examination for Underground, Surface or Electrical Mine Inspector please click on this link application forms
  • Watch our website for notification of  the next scheduled test. 
What are the qualifications to become a West Virginia Safety Instructor for WVMHS&T?
  • For a complete job descriptions for mine safety instructor use this link: Mine Safety Instructor,  The applicant must pass a comprehensive written and verbal examination, (grade of at least 75%, or an overall combined average score of 80%)
  • If you wish to make application to take the examination for Mine Safety Instructor please click on this link application forms
  • Watch our website for notification of  the next scheduled test. 

Permitting

How do I apply for a mine permit from the WV Office of Miners’ Health Safety and Training?

At the present time you can apply for a mine permit from any WVMHS&T regional office. There is a filing fee of $100.00 for each permit.  Most applications for permits are now on our web site forms page

What is a mine permit extension, and how much does it cost?

Every permit must be extended (renewed) in January of each year.   The permit holder must apply on forms provided by the director, must have paid or appealed all WVMHS&T penalty assessments, must have filed all required tonnage reports and the application must be accompanied by a fee of $100.00. Permit Extensions may be filed on-line and the fee may be paid on-line as well; there are links on our main page. Most applications for permits are now on our web site forms page

I’m a contractor doing work for coal companies, I was told I need to get a West Virginia Contractors Approval (DMM60-C) from your office.  How do I do this?

Application forms are available from any WVMHS&T office or from this web site, use the link below to download the forms.   The applicant must have approval from the WV Division of Labor, be in compliance with Workers’ Compensation Division and Employment Security Division.  The applicant must also have an approved comprehensive safety program with WVMHS&T.  There is a $100.00 filing fee.  There is an application package on our forms page.  


Publications

How do I order a copy of any WVMHST Study Guide or other Publications?

You can order a copies of any of our printed publications from the Charleston Office by simply sending an email to the address below or you can order online and use a credit card to pay for your purchase.  Use this link to place an online order: list of publications

If your question wasn’t answered here, send us an email and we will direct it to the proper individual or office for prompt reply.